Simple and secure screen sharing

powered by VNC®

Share a computer screen with a friend on Facebook anytime, anywhere and for free!

How to use...

1

Choose a friend

First of all, choose the Facebook friend you want to share a screen with. If you’re going to share your screen, make sure this is someone you trust!

We also recommend choosing a friend who’s currently online or you may be waiting some time!

2

Choose whose screen to share

You can choose to share your screen, in which case your friend gets to see your desktop and share control of your computer.

Or you can request to share your friend’s screen, in which case you get to see their desktop and share control of their computer (if they accept).

It depends what you want to do!

3

Get connected

If you chose to share your screen, you are prompted to download a small, temporary software program. If you requested to control your friend's screen, you see it in a new browser tab. Either way, your friend is notified to take appropriate action through Facebook.

The two computers then automatically and securely connect over the Internet, wherever they are in the world. You don’t have to do anything else!

When you’ve finished, deskhop auto-deletes, keeping you safe online. If you want to share the same screen with the same friend, just deskhop again!

1

Choose a friend

First of all, choose the Facebook friend whose screen you want to share.

Note if a friend wants to share your screen, you’ll have to visit deskhop on your Windows, Linux, or Mac computer. They can’t control your iDevice, unfortunately!

2

Send the request and await a response

You may need to wait a few seconds while your friend downloads and runs deskhop on their computer.

If you want to chat to help your friend with this operation, use the Facebook app.

3

Control your friend’s computer

When you connect, your finger moves your friend’s mouse cursor rather than mouse-clicking where you touch, as you might expect with a touchscreen. This gives you fine-grained control of their high-resolution computer desktop.

To see how to emulate common mouse operations, tap the ? toolbar button. For example, to double-click the left mouse button, position the cursor where you want to click and tap the screen twice.

If the toolbar disappears, shake the device. Tap the pin to pin the toolbar permanently.

Frequently asked questions

What is deskhop?

deskhop enables you to quickly and simply share a computer screen with a friend on Facebook.

You can:

  • Share your screen, in which case your friend gets to see your desktop and control your computer.

    To do this, log in to Facebook and run deskhop on the supported computer you want to share.

  • Request to share your friend’s screen, in which case you get to see their desktop and control their computer (if they
    accept, that is).

    To do this, log in to Facebook and run deskhop on your computer, or download the deskhop app to your
    iPhone or iPad from the App Store—whichever’s more convenient!

Note that while a screen is being shared, you and your friend are both in control.

What can I do with deskhop?

Sharing a screen is like sitting down in front of a computer together with your friend.

So there’s virtually no limit! You could:

  • Troubleshoot a technical problem for your friend, or get help yourself
  • Collaborate on a document
  • Watch a slideshow
  • Edit a picture
  • Or just show off!

Is there anything I can’t do?

You can’t use deskhop to:

  • Listen to music remotely (no sound is transmitted)
  • Transfer files
  • Remote control an iPhone or iPad from a computer.

But that’s about it!

How does deskhop work?

If you choose to share your screen, you are prompted to download a small, temporary software program to your computer. Your friend is notified of your intentions through Facebook.

Once activated at either end, deskhop automatically establishes an encrypted connection over the Internet. Neither you nor your friend need know anything about computers or networking—deskhop handles all the technical details for you.

When one party disconnects, the temporary software program is automatically deleted from your computer, leaving no trace.

Who is deskhop from?

deskhop is from RealVNC, RealVNC, the original inventor of VNC remote access and control technology.

Is screen sharing safe?

Providing you only share your screen with someone you trust, deskhop is completely safe.

Connections are encrypted end-to-end using 128-bit AES technology, so it’s not possible for a third party to intercept communications in order to steal sensitive information such as passwords. And because deskhop has zero footprint, a connection cannot be re-established, and nor can anyone else connect in.

Please note that while connections are brokered by RealVNC web services hosted in secure, always-available, professionally-managed data centers, RealVNC does not monitor connections, nor store session data, in any way.

How much does deskhop cost?

deskhop is currently free to use.

What do I need to use deskhop?

Most importantly, you need a Facebook account, and at least one Facebook friend!

If you want to share your screen, you’ll need:

  1. A Windows (XP or later), Mac (10.7 or later) or Linux computer (any modern Debian or Red Hat-based distribution).
  2. A browser. The latest versions of IE, Safari, Chrome and Firefox give the best experience, though other browsers should work.

Your friend is prompted through Facebook to take all appropriate action. They’ll need either:

  • A supported computer and browser (as above). Note you can easily share a Windows screen with a Mac or Linux user or vice versa — deskhop is truly cross-platform!
  • An iPhone or iPad running iOS 7 or later.

Note your friend must be online and logged in to Facebook in order to see your request!

How is control shared between two people?

While you’re sharing a screen, both you and your friend are able to move the mouse cursor, and enter text in a suitable application or field. It’s best if you take turns!

Note that when using an an iPhone or iPad, your finger moves the mouse cursor rather than clicking where you touch, as you might expect with a touchscreen. See the onboard help for how to mouse click, drag and drop, scroll, and so on.

At the bottom of the screen there’s a dialog* explaining who’s currently in control:

* You can move this dialog around, but note it’s always visible to both parties.

How do I stop misuse?

The screen owner always has priority over the mouse cursor, and can therefore disconnect the other party at any time.

Simply click the always-visible Disconnect button, shown in the picture above.

What do I do if something goes wrong?

Most errors are temporary in nature, typically caused by intermittent network connectivity. The recommended procedure is to try again in five minutes!

If you really can’t connect, contact us through Facebook in the standard way for a Facebook app. If you have any other feedback, fill out our online survey form please visit our website (http://deskhopapp.com) in your browser and fill out our online form.

Enjoy using deskhop!

Share a computer screen with a friend on Facebook anytime, anywhere and for free!